How to send “good” eblasts.


I’m signed up for many eNewsletters. Some come daily, some weekly… you get the idea. Some I unsubscribed from after a while, others I do not unsubscribe from but usually delete immediately after reading the subject line, but one website actually sends me eblasts that I read (sometimes even saving it for later), and usually click on at least one link. So what are some companies doing better than others? Well to be honest for me, to open and read an eblast is dependent on frequency of said eblasts and content. Subjects I am more interested in I want to read about.

If you want people to read your eblasts, earn their trust. By “earning their trust” I simply mean do not abuse your power to push out emails. Make sure you have a few (or at least one big) newsworthy thing to your readers.

If not every reader is interested in each section of your newsletter, split them up and give your readers options. For instance some people may only want an eNewsletter from Nordstrom to hear about sales, not what new line just arrived.

Basically just remember that quality is better than quantity. That’s all you really need to know. If you need to break your eblasts down into different segments so different people with different interests can sign up.

Now for who I think does a wonderful job at eblasts. Don’t worry this shocked me too, but WebMD. As some of you may know I am interested in health and fitness, so I opted in for their “Healthy Eating” and “Fitness” eNewsletters. These newsletters give me workout tips, healthy tasty recipes, random facts, and more. Pictured below is an example of an eblast from WebMD. You can see there isn’t too much information, it is all relevant, and it’s separated in a nice easy to read fashion.

I actually made the “Charred Tomato and Chicken Tacos” referenced in the photo above. You can find the recipe here.

They are as delicious as they look.

Overall I think that a lot of companies could learn from the tactics WebMD uses to issue eblasts.

What are things you hate or love about eblasts?

Jessi

7 responses to “How to send “good” eblasts.

  1. I tend not to sign-up for E-newsletters out of habit, because when I register for something I automatically uncheck the box that says “subscribe!” haha. Actually, at SOOR they have a email blast newsletter for every different fundraising event (written by volunteers, not employees! interesting, eh?).

  2. Great advice, Jessi. I know that when I was working at Seattle Weekly, we tried to divide up our newsletters as much as possible so that people who were interested in music only got music news whereas people who were interested in eco-friendly practices only got news on that. It worked really well for us, as it obviously does for other organizations as well!

  3. Great post Jessi! I love WebMD! I use it all the time (my dad thinks I am a hypocondriac)I’ll have to sign up for E-Newsletters from the site and get all those recipes as well!

  4. Like Hannah, I too tend to not sign up for e-newsletters…more often than not they feel spammy to me. Like you pointed out, they often aren’t 100% newsworthy and sometimes content just seems like filler to me as well. I do however sign up for Mac’s List and other job-oriented blasts!

  5. Great post! I sign up for the ones I am really interested in, and sometimes regret it too! One of my biggest pet peeves is ones that say weekly and then I get other stuff from them 2-3 times a day! Not cool!

  6. E-blasts are cool on occasion when they actually give you good tips. Most I’ve seen have the same information, which means they are just there to bug you. Nice post!

  7. Great post! I always end up signing up for e-blasts and then, like you said, delete each one after reading the subject line. I would suggest, in addition to providing newsworthy content, that e-blast put a lot of effort into the subject line. If it doesn’t catch my attention, it will get deleted. Twitter is great for practicing short, attention-grabbing news items.

Leave a Reply

